Bookish Tags · Uncategorized

The Dim Sum Book Tag

I was tagged for this back in NOVEMBER!!! Man am I slow, sorry Kat! Anyway I was tagged by Kat over at Life and Other Disasters. Thanks for the tag!

The Dim Sum Book Tag is the brainchild of Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading With Jenna. Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha(which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

RULES:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

*I haven’t even started yet and I am now starving!! 😀

And, when doing this tag, please link back to both posts of Joey @Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @Reading With Jenna, so they can add you to a list of people who have completed the tag!


Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold

Luke Smitherd

In the Darkness That’s Where I Will Know You: The Complete Black Room Story by Luke Smithered. It was a great book but by the middle of the second book it just got too complicated and I found my excitement for the series waining. Totally unfortunate. Still it was pretty good, just not a book you should read all at one I think.


Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea

Susan Dennard

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard was the first thing that popped into my head! I love, LOVE this book! I can’t wait for Winditch in January!!!!!!!


 

Rice Noodle Roll: A favourite multilayered character you’ve read (i.e. traits? skills? morally ambiguous?)

Kaz_brekker

(img from Grishaverse Wikia)

There is just something about him! I am in to it. He could be a liiile less apathetic and more compassionate…but then that is what Inej will bring to him! ❤


Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away

I’m not going to answer this one because I would have to go through and read blurbs for all of the books I have read and that is just rediculous lol. I never read the full blurb I always just skim it. I can for the most part look for key words or phrases and know if it will be for me.


Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavour (e.g. message? depth? controversy?)

Anthony Marra

The cover of this book is absolutely misleading. The colors are bright and beautiful. Although the book itself is absolutely beautiful, it packs one heck of a punch to the solar plexus! I still feel a lump in my throat just thinking about this book.


Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions

Stephenie Meyer

This is the first thing that comes to mind. The division on this series is pretty insane, and brutal.


Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice:  A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged

julie eshbaugh

I pre-orderd this from Amazon, but Julie Eshbaugh sent everyone that pre-ordered really awesome book plates and bookmarks! It was wonderful.


Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly

Evelyn Skye

I think this will be one of those books where you either like it or don’t. There was a love triangle and instances where it was pretty similar to The Night Circus, plus insta-love; but I really enjoyed it!


Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination

charlie holmbergcake.jpg

 

I want that cake so bad right now!!!! In Charlie N. Holmbergs new book Maire can invoke any feeling she wants into her baking, and I can totally dig that!


Fried Sesame Balls: A book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over

wendy spinale

I like the cover plus it really soft to the touch, and that makes me happy!

 


Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around (take a picture!)

20160623_122245.jpg

Well I pretty much just carry them in my purse. It can actually hold more then you would think 😀

I Tag You…

Monique @ That Wild Soul //  Clair @ Art and Soul // Keira @ Signing On // Annie @ Misstery // Living in the Pages

Happy Reading,

Jackie

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. YAY! I always say, better late than never. And have you seen how behind I am on my tags? It’s ridiculous how many have piled up in my drafts! 🙂 Thanks for doing the tag anyway, your answers were great. I mostly just skim blurbs too, because let’s face it, a lot of those are REALLY revealing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment