Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[Book Review] Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

Curtis Littenfeld

Title: Eligible: A Modern Retelling of Pride and Prejudice

Series: Yes, The Austen Project, #4

Author: Curtis Sittenfeld

Publisher: Random House

Published Date: April 19, 2016

Genre: Fiction- Classic Retelling, Romance

 Format: EBook

Pages: 512

                                                  Rating: 4 Stars

I received this novel for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way effects my opinions. My thoughts are, as always, my own.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

This version of the Bennet family and Mr. Darcy is one that you have and haven’t met before: Liz is a magazine writer in her late thirties who, like her yoga instructor older sister, Jane, lives in New York City. When their father has a health scare, they return to their childhood home in Cincinnati to help and discover that the sprawling Tudor they grew up in is crumbling and the family is in disarray.

Youngest sisters Kitty and Lydia are too busy with their CrossFit workouts and Paleo diets to get jobs. Mary, the middle sister, is earning her third online master’s degree and barely leaves her room, except for those mysterious Tuesday-night outings she won’t discuss. And Mrs. Bennet has one thing on her mind: how to marry off her daughters, especially as Jane’s fortieth birthday fast approaches.

Enter Chip Bingley, a handsome new-in-town doctor who recently appeared on the juggernaut reality TV dating show Eligible. At a Fourth of July barbecue, Chip takes an immediate interest in Jane, but Chip’s friend, neurosurgeon Fitzwilliam Darcy, reveals himself to Liz to be much less charming. . . . And yet, first impressions can be deceiving.

My Review

I have not read many Austen retellings. I didn’t enjoy the Bridget Jones movie and I wasn’t a huge fan of Pride Prejudice and Zombies. I keep meaning to pick up other retellings but it just seems that nothing can really compare! However, Eligible is a wonderful quirky, fast paced, and exciting retelling of Pride and Prejudice.

I feel like Sittenfeld was extremely true to the original story while still adhering to everything modern. I will say however, that Pride and Prejudice wasn’t so bad for its time…but in the harsh reality of modernity I realize that everyone was pretty awful, and all of the situations were just as bad!

Although, I have discovered my love for Darcy moves through the ages pretty smoothly. I just adored Darcy in Eligible just as much as in P&P. I was thrilled when Lizzie and Darcy got a whole lot more talking scenes, and even steamy scenes in Eligible.

My biggest complaints are that the adorable Bingley seemed a whole lot more pathetic in Eligible and ALL of the Bennet sister (minus Jane of course) were absolutely AWFUL! I couldn’t stand any of them. Though they are obviously self-absorbed and immature much like the original book, there was a level of cruelty with this modern retelling that I found unbearable.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and I hope Sittenfeld will continue retelling all my favorite classics!

 

 

Leave a Reply

