Book Reviews

[Review] Hunter in the Dark by Lawrence Osborne

lawrence-osborne

Title: Hunters in the Dark

Series: No

Author: Lawrence Osborne

Publisher: Hogarth Press

Published Date: October 11th, 2016

Genre: Fiction- Mystery/Suspense

 Format: Paperback

Pages: 320

Rating: 5 stars

I received this book for free from bloggingforbooks.com in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my review, my opinions are my own.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Adrift in Cambodia and eager to side-step a life of quiet desperation as a small-town teacher, 28-year-old Englishman Robert Grieve decides to go missing. As he crosses the border from Thailand, he tests the threshold of a new future.
And on that first night, a small windfall precipitates a chain of events– involving a bag of jinxed money, a suave American, a trunk full of heroin, a hustler taxi driver, and a rich doctor s daughter– that changes Robert s life forever.
Hunters in the Dark is a sophisticated game of cat and mouse redolent of the nightmares of Patricia Highsmith, where identities are blurred, greed trumps kindness, and karma is ruthless. Filled with Hitchcockian twists and turns, suffused with the steamy heat and pervasive superstition of the Cambodian jungle, and unafraid to confront difficult questions about the machinations of fate, this is a masterful novel that confirms Lawrence Osborne s reputation as one of our finest contemporary writers.

My Review

Hunters in the Dark by Lawrence Osbourne was such a slow, rich, and gritty masterpiece. The whole time I felt as if I was wading through mud and perfectly content to continue on in this way; slowly making my way to the inevitable ending.

I can’t say I had any expectations as the book progressed. I was happy to just experience everything as it came. Very languidly, shocked but hardly surprised by anything. It was a very odd experience. One I would like to relive from every angle possible.

Osbourne really puts you in the story. I have never been to Cambodia, and I have only had a mere curiosity about it. After reading this book I feel so intimate with the country that I feel as if I have traveled there myself.

The characters are both despicable and endearing. You can’t help but get attached to Robert and Sophal, everyone else is an odd quagmire of good and evil. Cambodia seems to breed those types, neither decent or cruel; merely just moving along in a world where you look out for yourself because no one else will.

I love the idea of Karma. Wither you believe that our actions produce a type of fate you cannot extricate yourself from or you don’t, it is clear that in Cambodia you must watch what you do to others because you will most likely get what’s coming to you later.

Brilliant book. Lawrence Osborne is definitely on my radar!

Happy reading,

Jackie

Leave a Reply

