Book Reviews · Uncategorized

{ARC Review} Pumpkintown Perils Vol. 1 by Aubrey Law

law.jpg

Title: Pumpkintown Perils

Series: Wild Wild Witch Mystery Budle Series Book 1

Author: Aubrey Law

Publisher: ??

Published Date: August 4th, 2016

Genre: Mystery

 Format: E-Book

Pages: NA

Rating: 3 Stars

I received this book for free from the author, Aubrey Law, through Book Tasters in exchange for an honest review. This does not in any way affect  or encourage my opinions. They are my own.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Deep in the Jagged Wood enchanted forest, wild witch Wanda Tempest owns a magic supply shop, practices witchcraft, drinks too much, dances, and struggles with a weakness for attractive men. She also happens to be a promising, if only part-time, Private Investigator. She’s talented, beautiful, and has earned the respect and admiration of the equally talented, though far less striking, Police Inspector Sam Shamrock, an overweight leprechaun. He’s crazy about her… she’s crazy about her cat-food-refusing whiskered companion, Jinxy.

Join this formidable, if mismatched, crime-solving duo, as they tackle mysteries ranging from the scandalous to the outright strange. Talking trees, evil gnomes, murderous wood trolls, and homicidal humans will keep Wanda and Sam fighting for justice, and their very lives.

Troublesome twin sisters, a crazy great-aunt, a kiss that shouldn’t have happened, and a spoiled Siberian cat with a smart mouth all guarantee that Wanda’s life remains full of surprises. As long as Sam doesn’t drink too many Irish Coffees everything usually works out.

My Review

Pumpkintown Perils is an okay read for me. It took a while for me to get into it, probably because my brain is so fired up from reading all of these really dark and plot driven mysteries. This book is not that. As soon as I shed my misgivings and just took the book for what it was – a quick read with a lot of silliness, I was okay.

Unfortunately, even after that, this was still an okay read. I can’t tell if the author was intending to create a funny parody of Cozy Witch mysteries, or if this was the real deal. I am choosing the former as it makes it a bit more bearable.

Pumpkintown Perils follows Wanda, the local witch and owner of a store that sells witchy ingredients – oh and she is also a sleuth partner with Sam the local Police Inspector, and comic relief. Sam is a leprechaun who drinks too much and belches a lot; oh and he is in love with Wanda. Wanda, who is the self-proclaimed hottest woman in P-town (at the very least the best breasts), is constantly  berating Sam and talking about that unfortunate kiss a few months back (me thinks the lady does protest too much), while simultaneously trying her hardest NOT to sleep with her sisters boyfriend who still has sexual feelings for her. The personal side stories of Wanda just get more complicated as the short stories progress. I found it hard to really like anyone, especially with the short and brusque nature of the story. Since everything was in Wanda’s POV it was really hard to take anything seriously with her entitlement and self-riotousness permeating everything. However, Wanda wasn’t a bad person. She may have had personality quirks that irked me…but she generally cared for all of her family and friends and wanted justice.

The mysteries were the worst part of this for me. I felt as if they were mostly an afterthought, filler to keep the story going. After all, you can’t have a Cozy Mystery without a mystery. Each murder was solved very quickly, even for a short story, and with little focus on the actual solving. I couldn’t guess ‘who-done-it-‘ but only because there was no logical stream to the investigations, very little background info to even hazard a guess. Good prevailed though, so that is good.

Honestly, this was an okay trip from reality. Despite my grievances I didn’t hate the book and actually read it pretty quickly. I probably won’t really be reading the next volume of stories. However, I am slightly interested  to know if Wanda ever gets off her high horse and realizes her feelings for Sam!

 

Thank you again to Booktasters for getting me in touch with the author, and thank you to Aubrey Law for offering your book to me.

Happy Reading,

Jackie

Leave a Reply

