Uncategorized · Weekly Memes

This or That…? #68

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday [Rae] will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins.

Go check out Rae’s epic site and start participating in this meme; you know you want to

The Question

Have you ever read or written fan fiction?

If so, what was it about?

Who hasn’t? Really, I want to know — is there anyone who hasn’t at the very least read one fanfiction in their life time? I’m not sure I would really believe them even if they said so.

Absolutely, I have totally read fanfiction and dabbled, albeit very briefly, in writing it. In high school I was OBSESSED with Buffy the Vampires Slayer! I read fanfiction, I even participated in RPG like settings when Yahoo Groups were still a thing! Once I caught the Buffy bug, there was no stopping me! I read fanfiction from every fandom I happened to be obsessing over. Farscape, X-Files, Harry Potter. Then when I discovered Crossover Fanfiction — Jesus, I am surprised people didn’t send out a search party for me! It lasted long into my sophomore year of college, but started to die out as life became a lot more complicated.

I think back on that period of life with a lot of fondness. I adored the creative way people would shake up the cannon or handle situations differently than the show or book had done. I every once in a while find myself thinking about some stories that had stuck with me and get a slight nostalgic tingle. I will think I might one day see if I can find that story and reread it; and maybe someday I will.

Happy Reading,

Jackie

One thought on “This or That…? #68

Leave a Reply

