Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] Death By Cliche by Bob Defendi

Title: Death By Cliche

Series: No

Author: Bob Defendi

Publisher:Curiosity Quills Press

Published Date: May 30th 2016

Genre:  Fantasy, Humor

 Format: PDF

Pages: 284

Rating:2 Stars

I would like to thank the publisher for kindly offering this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

“Where are you taking me, and why can’t I open this door?” -Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Blood of the Cosmos.
“I totally didn’t just make up this quote without reading the book.” -Dan Wells, Author of The Devils Only Friend
“I told Bob I would heartily recommend this book, and he said I could have Mister Whiskers back.” -Dan Willis, Coauthor of Dragons of the Confederacy

About Death by Cliché:

To Sartre, Hell was other people. To the game designer, Hell is the game.

Damico writes games for a living. When called in to rescue a local roleplaying game demo, Damico is shot in the head by a loony fan. He awakens in a game. A game full of hackneyed tropes and clichéd plots. A game he was there to save, run by the man who murdered him just moments ago. A game that has just become world-swap fantasy. Damico, to his horror, has become the heart of the cliché.

Set on their quest in a scene that would make Ed Wood blush, Damico discovers a new wrinkle. As a game designer, he is a creative force in this broken place. His presence touches the two-dimensional inhabitants. First a peasant, then a barmaid, then his character’s own father…all come alive.

But the central question remains. Can Damico escape, or is he trapped in this nightmare? Forever.

Wait, what? This is a comedy? Ignore all that. Death by Cliché is a heartwarming tale of catastrophic brain damage. Share it with someone you love. Or like. Or anyone at all. Buy the book.

Based on a true story.

My Review

Okay, so I am going to start off by saying that choosing this book had been a bad decision on my part. I am NOT a gamer; I am not good at games and I don’t particularly like them. Ready Player One had been a flop for me but I really, REALLY enjoyed The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss. So really these kinds of books are a hit or miss with me.

I chose Death By Cliche mainly for its humor. Which really fell flat for me. It felt very much like an insider joke that I ‘had to have been there’ for. Well, I wasn’t there. I didn’t get a single reference or joke and the ones I did get were more of a chuckle for me. The author also had quotes at the beginning of the chapters, and apparently either ran out of nerdy quotes (highly improbable) or thought it would be funny to act like he ran out of them, but still had to go through with the quotes. It mostly seemed weird for me.

I can’t say I really felt much for the characters. I was really rooting for Damico though, because being shot in the head by crazy fan is REALLY messed up!

The premise of this story, being trapped in a D&D game, is very interesting. I wish I had enjoyed it more.

 

Happy Reading

Jackie

One thought on “[ARC Review] Death By Cliche by Bob Defendi

Leave a Reply

