Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] Vault of Dreams by Luke Taylor

Title: Vault of Dreams

Series: No L

Author: Luke Taylor

Publisher: Luke Taylor

Published Date: July 31, 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

 Format: Paperback

Pages: 450

Rating: 5 (*ahem* all of them) Stars

I would like to thank Luke Taylor for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Albanland. Emerald hills and ice blue lochs, bordered by Nørds raiders and the haughty monarchs of South Angle, each dynasty eager to seize lands weakened by a civil war in which a usurper has risen to seize the cloven throne.
Morgance, Faer Princess of the Night.
And by her side, the fearsome Ultan Skölhammer, sworn Guardian of the Crown.
But Rhoswen, rightful heir to the throne, princess in exile, leads a final uprising from the depths of the forest, an uprising that twists together the lives of the most unlikely companions.
A notorious thief accused of a crime she did not commit.
A baird apprentice searching for the meaning of life.
A pair of brothers who can’t seem to stay out of trouble.
And a gypsy bound to the ancient artifact known only as the Vault of Dreams.

My Review

I know that you (or most of you) have already listened to me gush about how much I love Luke Taylor when I reviewed his novel The Quiet Kill (my review). I am just floored by how eloquently his words just flow, his stories come to life, and I immediately get attached to the characters.

His newest novel Vault of Dreams is no different. It was within the very first 5 pages that I KNEW, this book was going to a favorite for 2016, if not my lifetime!

Vault of Dreams, which follows the lives of several characters as they attempt to aid the lost, rightful heir to the thrown of Albanland. A thief with a troubled passed, two brothers and a beautiful gypsy, A bard with secret, and a brave soldier who holds the heart of the rightful queen, and of course the current queen as well (ah, love triangles). We follow each character as they fall in love, learn to fight, and ultimately become the people they were meant to be. I am extremely happy that this was a multiple pov, Luke does extremely well at jumping between characters, and they all have very distinct voices. I had no trouble knowing who was talking. The multiple pov also gives you a chance to really get to know the characters and fall in love with them, and fall I did! Every character has a very special niche in my heart (especially Nievan :D)

The plot was pretty straightforward; the rightful heir has disappeared, leaving the thrown vulnerable to Morgance, who turns out be a pretty sketchy ruler- side note, Morgance was the only character that hadn’t locked down my adoration; I was so all over the map with my emotions for her, sometimes pity, sometimes anger…she was very hard to like at first. Roshwen creates an army and then goes to take her throne back.

I am not a big fan of fight scenes, especially big battles. In fact I often just skim through them. However, I found I didn’t do any skimming in this novel. The battle scenes are straight forward and quick, I really appreciated that.

One majorly epic thing about the book is its details to the surrounding areas. I loved how Luke painted the picture of Nordic coasts and forests. I seriously felt like I was in Scotland or Norway. It was just beautiful.

In fact this whole book was beautiful. It feels like a Modern Day Epic. My only regret is that there will be nothing else to read in this world. Ah well…I will just have to come back and read it again, which will be no hardship!

Seriously this book gets all of the stars, and you should absolutely put it on your to read list! While you’re at it, put all of his books on there as well!

Happy Reading

Jackie

2 thoughts on “[ARC Review] Vault of Dreams by Luke Taylor

Leave a Reply

