Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] Nika: A Seychatka Novella by D.H. Gibbs

Title: Nika: A Seychatka Novella

Series: Yes

Author: D.H. Gibbs

Publisher: Sandphics Creations

Published Date: March 1st, 2016

Genre:  Fantasy

 Format: Ebook

Pages: 96

Rating: 3 Stars

I would like to thank Book Tasters and the D.H. Gibbs for providing me with a copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Taken off the streets Nika is thrown into an unknown world where she’s held captive. As an orphan, she has been on the run and must find her way out before they discover her secret. But these people held the knowledge of her family and who she is. Will she be able to find out before her secret is revealed? After hundreds of years, Demyan has finally found the rightful ruler of his race. Unfortunately, she doesn’t know who she is and is doing everything in her power to escape him. Time is running out and Demyan has to convince Nika to take her rightful place otherwise the battle will be lost and his race extinguished.

My Review

Nika was a bit of a surprise. I felt very wishy washy in my feelings for this book, until I reminded myself that this was basically a teaser.

I think what I enjoyed the most about this book was my surprising acceptance of the characters by the end. Although I still feel that too much was packed into such a short story. I was a little confused about some of the back story, and the jumping through time was slightly irksome. There were times when I didn’t feel that some reactions were believable. However, all in all, I think it came together fairly well in the end. I was definitely intrigued by the ending. I can’t help but feel the need to know what is happening to Nika!

Unfortunately, the grammer really made it a little difficult for me to fully immerse myself. I realize that these are supposed to be more modern characters, but I was thrown by the common text abbreviations in sentences said by characters, such as WTF; but this is definitely a personal preference. It is just not something I really understand.

I wasn’t very convinced in the beginning, but it claimed my attention in the end. Very quick read, just a taste of what the author and the story have to offer.

Happy Reading

Jackie

 

 

One thought on “[ARC Review] Nika: A Seychatka Novella by D.H. Gibbs

Leave a Reply

