Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

Title: My Name is Lucy Barton

Series: No

Author: Elizabeth Strout

Publisher: Random House

Published Date: January 12th, 2016

Genre: Literary Fiction, Contemporary

 Format: EBook

Pages: 193

Rating: 5 Stars

I would like to thank Netgalley and Random House for supplying me with this novel for free in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from what should have been a simple operation. Her mother, to whom she hasn’t spoken for many years, comes to see her. Gentle gossip about people from Lucy’s childhood in Amgash, Illinois, seems to reconnect them, but just below the surface lie the tension and longing that have informed every aspect of Lucy’s life: her escape from her troubled family, her desire to become a writer, her marriage, her love for her two daughters. Knitting this powerful narrative together is the brilliant storytelling voice of Lucy herself: keenly observant, deeply human, and truly unforgettable.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

My Review

I have really become a fan of Literary Fiction lately. I am so enamored with this genre and my recent read My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout.

At times very poignant and often incredibly sad, this novel has a main character that really resonates with you! I loved Lucy and I wanted so desperately to enfold her in my arms and protect her from an oft ugly world. The best part, despite this need on my part, Lucy really didn’t need anyone to help lift her up. She was strong enough to do it on her own.

It breaks my heart every time I think of Lucy falling so in love with ANYONE who shows her even a drop of kindness. Though we only get tidbits into her awful childhood, I can’t help but wonder how bad it could have been if, even in adulthood, she is starved for kindness. It is an incredibly tragic sort of life.

There are really only two characters, Lucy and her mother, with a myriad of other small characters littering the stories of the past. It’s not as easy to like Lucy’s mother. She is such a tough character, unwilling or unable to give her daughter the emotional love she so desperately wants. However, it is easy to see that this woman does love her daughter.

This was a wonderful story! I am so happy I was given a chance to read and review it! I am absolutely in awe of Strout’s talent. I will definitely be on the lookout for her next book!

Happy Reading,

Jackie

One thought on “[ARC Review] My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

Leave a Reply

