Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

Title: Vinegar Girl

Series: Hogarth Shakespeare

Author: Anne Tyler

Publisher: Hogarth

Published Date: June 21st, 2016

Genre: Retelling, Contemporary, Romance

 Format: Kindle Book

Pages: 240

Rating: 4 Stars

I would like to thank Netgalley for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies

Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but their parents don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner.

Dr. Battista has other problems. After years out in the academic wilderness, he is on the verge of a breakthrough. His research could help millions. There’s only one problem: his brilliant young lab assistant, Pyotr, is about to be deported. And without Pyotr, all would be lost.

When Dr. Battista cooks up an outrageous plan that will enable Pyotr to stay in the country, he’s relying – as usual – on Kate to help him. Kate is furious: this time he’s really asking too much. But will she be able to resist the two men’s touchingly ludicrous campaign to bring her around?

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

My Review

The Taming of the Shrew is my favorite Shakespeare play! So when I saw that there was a modern re-telling of it; I jumped on it so fast your head would spin. I was lucky enough to be accepted for an ARC through Netgalley, and I couldn’t be happier!

I loved every second of this book! All the characters were wonderful, the concept was for the most part spot on. I loved that Tyler didn’t go with the exact same plot line of TTotS, but instead stuck with the theme. The ‘battle of the sexes’ that takes place was a little less hashed out, but that’s okay. I still enjoyed the banter between Kate…and well everyone! I just LOVED Kate!!! Pyotr was absolutely adorable.

My only drawback is that it ended way too quickly, and felt only slightly rushed. However, it still worked for me. I will be off to find more Anne Tylor novels to read!

I think I will also look into getting all of the Hogarth Shakespeare series! What a wonderful idea!

Happy reading,

Jackie

 

3 thoughts on “[ARC Review] Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

  1. I’m so jealous! I love Anne Tyler and, although it’s not one of my favourites, of course I love all Shakespeare! You’re going to enjoy the world of Anne Tyler; you’re very lucky to have never read anything more, think what a treasure trove you have now! Her last year’s novel: ‘A Spool of Blue Thread’ is one of my personal favourites.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 I totally almost bought ‘A Spool of Blue Thread’ today. I’m trying to save money for my vacation next month, so it was seriously difficult to put it back haha. Next time! I am dying to read it, and youjust made me that much more excited! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

