Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[Review] The Damaged by Simon Law

Title: The Damaged

Series: no

Author: Simon Law

Publisher: Simon Law

Published Date: October 27, 2015

Genre: Horror

 Format: EBook

Pages: 317

Rating: 4 Stars

I would like to thank Simon Law for providing me a copy of his book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

The storm of ’87 had been the greatest, most ferocious storm to have hit Britain in centuries. The suffering that ensued was plentiful, but none more so than that of little Matthew Mason, whose parents were brutally murdered in the midst of the storm by a homeless man desperate to find shelter.
After 25 years of torment, Matthew is released from a mental institute under the watchful eye and care of Tammy Atkins, a care worker with a secret history of alcohol abuse and self-harm.
As Matthew struggles to adapt to his new found liberty, he finds himself continuously plagued by the demons of his past. Haunted by strange and ghastly images and urges, Matthew sets himself upon a path of vengeance; determined to seek out his parents’ killer and put his demons to rest once and for all.
‘The Damaged’ is a disturbing psychological thriller, delving deep into the darkest depths of the human psyche.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

My Review

What to say about The Damaged by Simon Law – I can definitely see his influences bleeding through; a little bit of King, definitely some Poe. This book is thrilling, suspenseful, horrifying, and downright disturbing!

The writing style is definitely easy. Everything flows really smoothly with no uncertainties. Law knew what he wanted and he delivered it. Law drops you into the story with very minimal twists and turns and over the top scare tactics, it is what it is- one long straight drive into hell at 90 mph. You can see what’s happening or going to happen but you are unable to look away. I found myself constantly yelling at the characters to not trust so and so, or to just open their eyes!

The characters; I’m still not entirely sure how I feel about the characters. There are really only two characters in this story. Matthew, Tammy, and the presence of the man who killed Matthews’s parents. I liked Matthew. I feel he was really flushed out and though he has some…issues; to put it mildly, he felt very human to me; almost real. I was in turns saddened and horrified and a bit of disgust for Matthew. Tammy is harder to like, considering she isn’t the ‘serial killer’, that’s a very different twist to this story. I liked that I didn’t particularly like Tammy, I liked that both main characters were damaged.

I won’t spoil it, but my favorite part about the whole book was the ending! I so rarely ever feel that an ending is perfect, but in The Damaged I can’t see it ending any other way. Phenomenal!
Happy Reading

Jackie

One thought on “[Review] The Damaged by Simon Law

Leave a Reply

