Uncategorized · Weekly Memes

This or That…? #42

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday [Rae] will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins.

Go check out Rae’s epic site and start participating in this meme; you know you want to

 

The Question

Which of these is worse….

Not liking the main character in a story

OR

Not liking the plot of the story

Rae always chooses such great, and hard questions because neither is preferable! This is an excellent question though. I think what it will boil down to is: Which is easier for me to ignore and finish the story.

Therefore, I will be going with not liking the main character in a story. As a main character, you will always be in that persons head; even if there are multiple POVs, you will still be spending large amount of time with that character. If you really don’t like that character – as in ‘if I read one more thought form this person, I might throw up’- it totally ruins the story for me. It is much easier to ignore a faulty plot then a horrendous character.

All of my DNFs have been because of bad characters: boring, annoying, confusing, no depth, etc. I just get put off. If I can’t stand the main character, I definitely do not want to be in their head for the next 300 or so pages!

 

Thank you to Rae for another amazing question. I am so glad to finally be back at my favorite weekly meme! Guys, go check out and participate in the This or That…? challenge!

Happy Reading

Jackie

2 thoughts on “This or That…? #42

Leave a Reply

