Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] Alfhiem ny Gary A. Nilsen

Title: Alfheim

Series: I think so, I REALLY hope so!

Author: Gary A. Nilsen

Publisher: Alexian Books Inc.

Published Date: April 26th, 2016

Genre: Fantasy

 Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 352

Rating: 5 Stars

I received this novel from the author through Booktasters for free in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Timothy Brennan is seventeen and miserable; life unravels by the day. Driven to the brink of suicide, a fae creature intervenes and together, they discover there is more to Timothy than anyone knew.

Learning that his mother’s death was murder, he begins a journey of revenge. The teen must now decide what to do about his new world before those who want to destroy the old ways find him… and kill him. If he can stay alive, Timothy may well be the key to restoring the lost realm of Alfheim.

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

My Review

Okay, time to be honest; this book was meh for me. I mean Elves and fairies- blargh.

HAHA…okay I can’t keep that going. This book was FANTASTIC! I enjoyed every second of it! I LOVE Elves, I love fantasy novels with Elves – I even enjoy the ones with nice fairies (as opposed to the mean suckers they are supposedly). So to review…I loved this book.

Alfheim really flows smoothly, and all of the good characters are likable. The bad characters, well I dis-liked them merely on principle; I felt that they just weren’t in the story for very long. Well I mean that they didn’t show up very often. Except for Timothy’s Uncle, who I hated (The end of this sentence contains a SPOILER) before I even knew he really was evil; what an A-Hole!

This book does read really smoothly; it is not difficult to find yourself immersed in the world and rooting for Timothy – who, I believe, handled the whole thing rather believably for a sixteen year old boy. I felt though that it didn’t have enough substance. It was merely a tale of Timothy coming to terms with his new world and destiny. I would have like some more world building. For me, world building is quintessential for Fantasy novels, it WILL make or break the story! As this is the first story in this series, I don’t hold it against the author…I just hope that it will be in the second novel; for which I will be gobbling up as soon as it comes out.

The few twists in the story were beautiful and tragic and I absolutely NEED to know what happens next! My thanks to Mr. Nelson for giving me another book to fangirl over!

 
Happy Reading

Jackie

2 thoughts on “[ARC Review] Alfhiem ny Gary A. Nilsen

Leave a Reply

