Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[ARC Review] A Muddied Muder by Wendy Tyson

Title: A Muddied Murder

Series: #1, A Greenhouse Mystery Series

Author: Wendy Tyson

Publisher: Henry Press

Published Date: March 29th, 2016

Genre: Cozy Mystery

 Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: NA

Rating: 3 Stars

I received this novel from Netgalley and the Publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

When Megan Sawyer gives up her big-city law career to care for her grandmother and run the family’s organic farm and café, she expects to find peace and tranquility in her scenic hometown of Winsome, Pennsylvania. Instead, her goat goes missing, rain muddies her fields, the town denies her business permits, and her family’s Colonial-era farm sucks up the remains of her savings.

Just when she thinks she’s reached the bottom of the rain barrel, Megan and the town’s hunky veterinarian discover the local zoning commissioner’s battered body in her barn. Now Megan is thrust into the middle of a murder investigation—and she’s the chief suspect. Can Megan dig through small-town secrets, local politics, and old grievances in time to find a killer before that killer strikes again?

3befb-addtogoodreadsblack

My Review

I found this book a bit difficult to get into at first. I didn’t have much interest in the mystery, and there was a very in-depth look into Megan’s life as a farmer/Café owner/ex-lawyer, that I felt took away from the story a little. There was just a lot of information and explaining that I felt wasn’t so necessary. I actually caught my mind wandering a few times as I was reading.

As for the characters, I found them a bit annoying, and the ones I fairly liked were pretty trivial to the story as a whole. Well except sexy Dr. Finn. He was the apple of the story 😀 I found myself continuously annoyed with Megan and her grandmother. Bibi, because I was annoyed by her secretiveness (which in the end the reasons why; although I hadn’t expected it, were pretty anticlimactic), Megan because she seemed so high and mighty in her affirmation that the only person who could really solve this was her. She was, from the very beginning, so passive-aggressive antagonistic to King and the police force (Even Kings girlfriend, Clover was like that.). She continuously gave King problems and (I felt) snottily telling him how to run the investigation. It would be different if it was clear that King wasn’t following serious leads…but they were all legitimate leads and questions! I don’t know it just rubbed me the wrong way.

I enjoyed reading the mystery, and there were enough red herrings for it to be interesting, but I felt that the ending was a little rushed and anticlimactic. I also enjoyed the interactions between Megan and Denver.

I think with a little polishing and some character exploration this had the potential for a great mystery!
Happy Reading

Jackie

One thought on “[ARC Review] A Muddied Muder by Wendy Tyson

Leave a Reply

