Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[Book Club Review: Mystery] The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Title: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nigh-Time

Series: No

Author: Mark Haddon

Publisher: Vintage

Published Date: May 18th, 2004

Genre: Mystery, Young Adult, Psychology

 Format: paperback

Pages: 226

Rating: 5 Stars

This was the Mystery Pick for March in It’s Not Just A Book Club!

Goodreads Group // Blog //

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow.

Although gifted with a superbly logical brain, for fifteen-year-old Christopher everyday interactions and admonishments have little meaning. He lives on patterns, rules, and a diagram kept in his pocket. Then one day, a neighbor’s dog, Wellington, is killed and his carefully constructive universe is threatened. Christopher sets out to solve the murder in the style of his favourite (logical) detective, Sherlock Holmes. What follows makes for a novel that is funny, poignant and fascinating in its portrayal of a person whose curse and blessing are a mind that perceives the world entirely literally.

My Review

Wow! This book is amazing! Poor Christopher, who is autistic, is treated so badly and he really doesn’t even realize. I felt equal parts blown away and enraged in Christopher’s behalf. I do wish we could have seen more of Siobhan, because she seems like the nicest person on planet earth.

I’m not sure how I can even review this without giving some of it away. I loved everything about this story. The mystery of the dog’s death is solved pretty early on and the book more or less becomes a journey for Christopher. I enjoyed watching up grow as a character; and I am very proud of all his accomplishments as he transverse a wide array of new and terrifying situations! Way to go Christopher!

I definitely 100% recommend this book to everyone!

 

Happy Reading

Jackie

 

7 thoughts on “[Book Club Review: Mystery] The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

  1. This sounds like a good read. I’ve had my eye in it for a while because it’s displayed prominently every time I visit Barnes and Noble.
    I haven’t read many books with protagonists that are autistic. Visibility and representation are so important.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have very little knowledge of Autisim, and I haven’t been around very many autistic people. However, I felt that it was done very tastefully, and shows the prominent preoblems and frustrations that come with being autistic and caring for someone with Autisim.

      I definitely agree that it is so important to highlight this condition with the utmost respect, but with some honesty as well.

      I enjoyed it, and I can’t think of anyone who has hated it so far. I think a few meh’s, but that is par of the course. You should definitely give it a try!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was so happy that you recommended this to me on goodreads because GURRRL I had this book on my mind for so long and you just reminded me how important it is I should get my hands on it LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I totally agree. I listened to it on audio CD two or three years ago, and was absolutely fascinated. It gives a good idea what it is like to be autistic, and also some of the problems the parents of autistic children face.

    Like

Leave a Reply

