Bookish Tags · Uncategorized

The Musical Instruments Tag

I was tagged for this wonderful tag by my very creative and awesome co-mod for  It’s Not Just A Book Club, Keira. Go check out the club and her blog, and follow both!

 

THE RULES


  • Link the creators Keira and Anthony so that they can see all of your answers!
  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Answer the questions
  • Have fun
  • Tag five or more other bloggers!

 

PIANO- A CLASSIC YOU LOVE

Piano is definitely a classic instrument and one that used to be called the piano forte. For this category, pick a book that has gone down in history.

Charles Dickens


 

This will forever and always go to the Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. My favorite!!


 

 

KEYBOARD- A RETELLING OF A FAMOUS STORY

The keyboard is a modern version of a piano, with some slight modifications. For this category, pick a book that is a retelling: of a classic, a fairy tale, a folk tale, a fanfiction.. your choice!!

Melissa Meyer


By far the best fairytale retelling I have ever read!

 


GUITAR- A POPULAR BOOK YOU LOVE

The guitar is an immensely popular instrument! What book do you share the love with everyone else with?

Cassandra Clare


 

I really think this popular right now, especially as it just came out last month! Even if it isn’t oh well, its going here because I LOVED IT!!! I just finished it yesterday, and I really can’t stop thinking about it. Clares best yet!


 

CELLO- A BOOK THAT GAVE YOU CHILLS

The cello is a compelling instrument with a powerful sound that can be quite creepy. Name a book that gives you the shivers.

Jonathan Maberry


 

Jonathan Maberry is a horror genius! The ending of this book still gives me chills!!


 

VOICE- A BOOK WITH A UNIQUE WRITING STYLE

Did you know that voice is classified as instrument? Which book plays with its words?

Tahereh Mafi



 

I think this will always (at least for now) go to Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. She is just so lyrical, and her writing style is very unique.


 

TRIANGLE- A BOOK THAT YOU DON’T LIKE TO MENTION READING

There is absolutely no shame in playing the triangle and it is much harder than one might imagine- I’ve tried! Name a book that people give you shame for liking.

Anne Rice


 

I very rarely, if ever, feel it is necessary to hide what I have read. Words are meant to be read and I don’t necessarily get embarrassed, I don’t care what people think of my reading choices; I am reading and that is all that matters. I am sure this is mostly because the book community is freaking accepting of individuality!! This book though…This was terrible. Terrible, Terrible, Terrible! I really regret the three chapters I did read.


 

FLUTE- A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WAS GOING TO BE ONE THING AND THEN WASN’T

The flute looks like a beautiful, pretty, delicate thing, but can produce some powerful sounds (not that they aren’t pretty). Name a book that was something unexpected.

Scott Hawkins


 

This book had me awash in a sea of uncertain guessing! I don’t know what I had thought it was going to be, but I know I was very surprised by everything!


 

PICCOLO- A BOOK THAT WAS OVERHYPED

Piccolo’s are great except if you’re the person sitting next to it: ear plugs are needed. Pick a book that you didn’t love as much as everybody else.

 

Renee Ahdieh


 

I tried to read this and DNFed it a few chapters in, it was just so boring! I am really disappointed because everyone is raving about it! However, I have on good authority that it gets better, so I may pick it back up.


 

OBOE- A BOOK NOT MANY PEOPLE HAVE READ

The oboe. A glorious instrument that a lot of people don’t play. Name a book that you read, but most people haven’t. 

Kenneth Calhoun


 

I haven’t really seen this book floating around the blogosphere, which is a shame. It was so good! Really trippy and terrifying!


 

HARP- A BOOK THAT IMMEDIATELY CHARMED YOU

The harp, another instrument steeped in tradition with a compelling sound. What book did you completely fall in love with?

Antoine Laurain


 

This book was just so charming, and right from the beginning too!


 

ACCORDION- A BOOK SET IN MULTIPLE TIME PERIODS

A timeless instrument that fits in some places… and not in others. Name a book set in multiple time periods.

Karen Akins.jpg


 

This was the first book that popped in my mind. It was in my Lit-Cube box for March. I haven’t read it yet, but they had me at Time-Travel 😀


 

BAGPIPES- A BOOK WITH A COMPLICATED PLOT

Bagpipes, a complex instrument that can make an awful sound if played incorrectly. Name a book with a complicated, hard-to-figure-out plot. 

Gillian Flynn.jpg


 

This book…this book was just pure complicated amazingness!


 

VIOLIN- A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF SHAKY AND GOT BETTER AS IT WENT ALONG

Ever listened to a beginner play violin? It hurts. Name a book that started off rough and got better along the way. 

Susan Dennard


Very shaky in the beginning. I am so freaking glad I stuck with it though; because now I am a fangirl!!! Love it!

 

 


You Are Tagged…

Joey  //  Jesse  //  Rae  //  Kim  //  Trang

Happy Reading,

Jackie

7 thoughts on “The Musical Instruments Tag

  1. Definitely agree with Truthwitch 😀 Shatter Me really does have a very unique writing style and I’m pretty sure Lady Midnight is definitely popular right now, although I’m not reading it until I finish City of Heavenly Fire… when I get around to picking that book up. Let me know if your thoughts change on The Wrath and the Dawn 🙂 and thank you for doing our tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

