Book Reviews · Uncategorized

[Review] Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell

Title: Song of the Sparrow

Series: No

Author: Lisa Ann Sandell

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Published Date: May 1st, 2007

Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Mythology, Poetry

 Format: Hardcover

Pages: 394

Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

The year is 490 AD. Fiery 16-year-old Elaine of Ascolat, the daughter of one of King Arthur’s supporters, lives with her father on Arthur’s base camp, the sole girl in a militaristic world of men.

Elaine’s only girl companion is the mysterious Morgan, Arthur’s older sister, but Elaine cannot tell Morgan her deepest secret: She is in love with Lancelot, Arthur’s second-in-command. However, when yet another girl — the lovely Gwynivere– joins their world, Elaine is confronted with startling emotions of jealousy and rivalry. But can her love for Lancelot survive the birth of an empire?

Add It

My Review

My Arthurian knowledge is very limited. I really only know what I have picked up in snippets from other books or television; which honestly wasn’t very much. I had no idea that Elaine had even existed, and I only knew of Tristan from that movie with Heath Ledger; which I hadn’t watched :D.

Okay so long story short, this was a fantastic first introduction for me. The pace was fast and easy, it flowed really well; and despite my worry that I wouldn’t connect with the characters because of the format of the story, there was no problems there.

I love Elaine, she is such a wonderful woman! She has yet to come into her own; which is understandable considering she has been the only girl in a camp full of men. She feels almost childish in the beginning flitting around camp and pining over Lancelot. I was really worried for her considering I know where Lancelot’s devotion ends up! But she tumbles through and comes out none the worse for wear. I loved how she stood up to Gwyneviere and ended up being the awesome badass woman she is! Major kudos to Elaine!

The verse style of writing took a little while for me to get into as I am not really familiar with it. However, it really didn’t take long to get into it. I don’t think it took away from the story and the author was able to get across the emotions as well. Spectacular job! I highly recommend!

This was the February pick for the Verse category for It’s Not Just A Book Club! We have our March picks ready and we hope that you will join us!

Goodreads Group // Blog  // March Book Picks

Happy Reading

Jackie

8 thoughts on “[Review] Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell

  1. Hey Jackie! Nice review! I plan on doing mine soon…. I plan on doing a lot of reviews in the next three days: I did the one for Temeraire already. I finished it last night and OMG!!!!!!! It was incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Keira! I will post reviews for all the ones I read tomorrow hopefully…today I I will finish Truthwitch and then tomorrow i will tackle The Luckiest Girl Alive. I am not really digging it yet but we will see what happens. I will check out your review for Temeraire today! The library is finally sending it to me…only a month too late lol! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

