Uncategorized

Goodbye January

The first month of 2016 is officially over. The time is FLYING!! Since it is February now, I think I owe you guys a highlight of the month of January, yes?

What happened in January…

Weekly Memes

Of course you can find them here. I think Starting in February’s War-up I will highlight my favorite ones.

Bookish Tags and Awards

I believe I was nominated for a couple but I haven’t replied yet, I will have to check. I am very behind in ALL things!

Books Read in January

*Books in red are definitely recommended by me

  • Zom-B (Zom-B, #1) by Darren Shan  3 Stars
  • The Messenger (The Giver, #3) by Lois Lowry 5 STars
  • The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Sleeping Beauty, #1) by A.N. Roquelaure 1 Star, DNF
  • The Aeronauts Windlass (The Cinder Spire Series, #1) by Jim Butcher 5 STars 
  • Margruders Curiosity Cabinet by H.P. Wood 3 Stars
  • The Grownup by Gillian Flynn 4 Stars
  • Southern Cross Volume One by Becky Cloonan  3  Stars
  • A Scone to Die For (The Ocford Tearoom Mysteries, #1) by H.Y. Hannah 3 Stars
  • Stave, Volume 1 by Brian Wood 3 STars
  • The Snow Queen by Hans Christan Anderson 3 Stars
  • High Witch (High Witch, #1) by Mona Hanna 3 Stars
  • The Vegetarian by Han Kang 3 STars
  • Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne 4 Stars
  • The Dreadful Fate of Jonathan York by Kory Merritt 5 Stars
  • Spoiler Alert: You’re Gonna Die by Korttany Finn and Jacquie Purcell 3 Stars
  • The Red Notebook by Antoine Lauraine 4 Stars
  • Broken Dolls (Broken Dolls, #1) by Tyrolin Puxty 4 Stars

Total Books read in January: 17

January Book Hauls

In January I received a lovely gift from the Authore Luke Taylor, if you arent following him on Goodreads do so now, here. He is a really cool guy! I haven’t had the chance to read his books yet, but they sound phenomenal and they have really great ratings! One of them is on my February TBR!

In January I also joined a Book Club, in which I co-mod, more on that in the February TBR post. So I gained a book for that

I also went on a book buying spree at Better World Books (FREE SHIPPING!!) and I got a few books I wanted to proudly display on my shelves

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Drawing of Three (The Dark Tower, #2) by Stephen King (I now have the whole series. YAY!!!)
  • A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy, #1) by Deborah Harkness
  • Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy, #2) by Deborah Harkness
  • The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy, #3) by Deborah Harkness

The Next spree was at my local bookshop

  • Deep South (Anna Pigeon, #8) by Nevada Barr
  • Blind Descent (Anna Pigeon, #6) by Nevada Barr
  • Hunting Season (Anna Pigeon, #10) by Nevada Barr
  • Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception (Books of Faerie, #1) by Maggie STeifvater
  • Ironside (Modern Fairytales, #3) by Holly Black
  • Out Of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Netgalley

  • The Book of Shade by K.C. Finn
  • Gifted Thief (Highland Magic, #1) by Helen Harper
  • Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth

The Reading Room

  • The Readers of Broken Wheel Reccommend by Katarina Bivald

Goodreads

  • The Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lupton

Blogging for Books

Nothing for January

Challenge Updates for 2016

Bout of Books 15 Total books read: 7 // Books finished: 2 // Pages read: 784

2016 Read My Books Challenge: No books read 😦

Popsugar Reading Challenge: 2/40

  • #14 A book you can finish in a day: Zom-B (Zom-B, #1) by Darren Shan
  • #37 A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with: Korean Culture The Vegetarian by Han Kang

The Backl15t Blitz Read-A-Thon CHallenge: Pages read: 1,210 // Books Finished: 5/6

The Goodreads 2016 Challenge: 17/100

 

Happy Reading!

Jackie

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Goodbye January

  1. Hmm, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Giver, so I’ve been quite hesitant about read the rest of the books in the quartet. Did the series get better or worse in your opinion?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie! I’m feeling like a total slacker after reading this-hahaha! I’m so happy to see you gave Jim Butchers book 5stars. I got it for Christmas and I’m just waiting for the right time to dive in. Maybe after we read Truthwitch. 🙂 Oh! And I’ve been talking to Luke via Goodreads. You’re right. He’s awesome! Plus he’s a fellow Patriots fan which gives him further points in my book. He’s sending me some of his books to rad and review so I’m stalking my mailman.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha. Don’t, I am positive I am being over ambitious 😀 Yay!!! I freaking loved it!! I hope you love it just as much. I am totally shipping Bridgit and Benedict and Rowl is the best character! I can’t wait for you to read it!!
      I am so happy you are enjoying his friendship. He is really cool! I am really excited to read his books! Lol I hope you get them before the restraining order from your mailman is put through! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

