Book Reviews · Uncategorized

{ARC} Review- Southern Cross Volume 1 by Becky Cloonan…

Title: Southern Cross Volume 1

Series: Comic Series

Author: Becky Cloonan,

Illustrators: Andy Belanger, Lee Loughridge

Publisher: Diamond Book Distributions

Published Date: January 26, 2016

Genre: Imagie Comics, Mystery, Sci-FI

 Format: PDF Download

Pages: 160

Rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received this title from Netgalley and the Publisher for free in exchange for a review.

Synopsis (From Netgalley)

Now boarding: Southern Cross, tanker flight 73 to Titan. Alex Braith is tracing her sister’s steps to the refinery moon, hoping to collect her remains and find some answers. The questions keep coming though-and they lead her down a path of intrigue, betrayal, and galactic horror. Collects SOUTHERN CROSS #1-5.

My Review

I have never read a comic before, so this was my first. As far as firsts go it wasn’t bad at all. I did get confused a few times as to what was going on, and who was talking. I had to go back and re-read to get the context. I assume that partly due to being unfamiliar with how comics are written.

The art work, however, is very good. I think I enjoyed looking at the comic a lot more than I did reading it.

As for the plot, I feel almost as if I had entered into a story already being told. However, I believe this is 1-5 in the series? I am not sure how it works. I was often unsure what was going on, and I wasn’t left with any real need to continue with the series, I wasn’t 100% sure that the end was even a cliff hanger…

Well, anyway, like I said. Not bad, but I am not entirely sold either.

Happy Reading

Jackie

 

 

2 thoughts on “{ARC} Review- Southern Cross Volume 1 by Becky Cloonan…

Leave a Reply

