Book Reviews

{ARC} Review- Starve Volume 1 by Brian Wood

Title: Starve Volume 1

Series: Starve #1-5

Author: Brian Wood

Illustrators: Danijel Žeželj

Publisher: Diamond Book Distributors

Published Date: January 26, 2016

Genre: Comics & Graphic

 Format: PDF Download

Pages: 120

Rating: 3out 5 Stars

I received this title from Netgalley and the Publisher for free in exchange for a review.

Synopsis (From Netgalley)

Once the world’s most famous chef, Gavin Cruikshank’s been in a self-imposed exile for years. His little foodie television program has since evolved into STARVE, an arena sport that pits chef against chef for the pleasure of their super-rich patrons. It’s a stain on a once-noble profession, and Chef Gavin is ready to go to war to stop it. Two things stand in his way: his arch rival Roman Algiers, and his adult daughter Angie, who probably just wants her dad back and acting normal. 

My Review

I really enjoyed this comic. It was easy to follow along with, I understood everything that was happening. As being only my second comic ever, I feel that I am starting to get the hang of reading them.

In a world where we are obsessed with reality television, I have no doubts that the world of Starved could become a reality. We already have cut throat contestant games, especially ones with chefs.

Starve was really fast paced, darky, and very gritty and gory. I can’t say I really disliked anything about this comic. Of course the shortness and speed of it leave me feeling less attached to characters, but this was a great distraction from reality! I think I will take a look at volume 2.

Happy Reading

Jackie

2 thoughts on “{ARC} Review- Starve Volume 1 by Brian Wood

Leave a Reply

