Book Reviews

Zom-B (Zom-B #1) By Darren Shan

Title: Zom-B

Series: Zom-B #1

Author: Darren Shan

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Published Date: September 27, 2012

Genre: Horror, Teen/YA

 Format: Hardcover

Pages: 217

Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars

Popsugar 2016 Reading Challenge: A Book I Can Finish in a Day

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Zom-B is a radical new series about a zombie apocalypse, told in the first person by one of its victims. The series combines classic Shan action with a fiendishly twisting plot and hard-hitting and thought-provoking moral questions dealing with racism, abuse of power and more. This is challenging material, which will captivate existing Shan fans and bring in many new ones. As Darren says, “It’s a big, sprawling, vicious tale…a grisly piece of escapism, and a barbed look at the world in which we live. Each book in the series is short, fast-paced and bloody. A high body-count is guaranteed!”

My Review

After much reflection I changed my rating from 2 stars to 3 stars, because honestly, I really can’t pinpoint a balance between ‘liking it’ and just ‘meh’.

I will say the body count is REALLY high. Thinking Steven King high; and there are a great deal of horrific situations, the majority of which are not cause by the zombies.

Let me talk about the zombies for a moment. I am all for taking a genre and putting your name on it; after all there is no right or wrong way to make zombies. With that said, the only thing Shan’s zombies have in common with the normal perception of zombie, is that they eat brains; but they are controlled by mutants wearing hoodies!?! What!?!

Which leads me to possibly my only favorite part about this book, there were many twists that I had no idea were coming. It really did leave me on my toes. In fact one was so out of the blue that I ended up having to go back to decide if I had missed any clues.

The rampant racism in this book was really hard to swallow, and the children were god awful! Plus B’s father was disgusting! I loathe that man, and honestly I loathe B just a little too.

Despite my rating, I think I will read the next one mostly because it took me one day to read this and I am dying to know what happens next (weird ending leaves you really guessing) and to find out what the hell Mr. Owl has to do with anything!!

Happy Reading

Jackie

3 thoughts on “Zom-B (Zom-B #1) By Darren Shan

Leave a Reply

