Uncategorized

I Read It! Review of Sorrow’s Point by Danielle DeVor

Title: Sorrow’s Point

Series: Book One of the Maker Chronicles

Author: Danielle DeVor

Publisher: Crescent Moon Press

Published Date: December 15, 2015

Genre: Horror, Sci-Fi/Fantasy

 Format: EBook

Pages: 241

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this EARC from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Not all exorcists are created equal- especially those that are “marked”.

When defrocked ex-priest, Jimmy Holiday, agrees to help an old friend with his sick daughter, Lucy, Jimmy doesn’t expect the horrors that await him. Blackmoor, his friend’s new residence, rests upon the outskirts of the town of Sorrow’s Point. The mansion’s history of magic, mayhem, and death makes it almost a living thing – a haunted mansion straight out of Flowers in the Attic. Jimmy must decide if Lucy is only ill, or if the haunting of the house and her apparent possession is real.

After the house appears to affect him as well; seeing colors of magic when rooms of the house are warded by a witch and his voice taking on a power he doesn’t understand, Jimmy is met by a transient who tells him he has “the Mark”. Whatever being “marked” means, Jimmy doesn’t care. All he wants to do is help Lucy. Helping Lucy means performing the exorcism.

Jimmy knows the ceremony, but it’s belief that matters. And if a demon is using a little girl as a meatsuit, his faith had better be strong enough to kick it back to Hell. Otherwise, he might damn them both. 

My Review

Oh man! Exorcisms, soul suckers, possession, black magic, cannibalism, an ex-priest and a witch. This novel was just so spooky and intense. I was for the most part consistently on the edge of my seat. The story progressed really fast but managed still keep you following along and interested.

The story is of a family who moves into a house that has been the forefront of some really dark black magic. The family is bombarded with strange occurrences and then their six year old daughter (that’s right, SIX!; and the language that comes out of that little girl :-/) changes. After many, many visits with doctors and priests, the family is desperate for help. The father, Will, goes to an old friend for help. Jimmy Holiday, used to be a priest. Along with the help of an old witchy flame, Jimmy will attempt to save the life of the little girl.

I really only have one complaint, it was too short. There were so MANY things Ms. DeVor could have expanded on. The Black family for one; you get little snippets into the 1950s before the Black family tragedy that started this all. It explains things fairly well, but she mentions some things that, I know were merely to show you the evilness of Mr. Black, but it seemed like a very interesting avenue to explore. I don’t know if that makes me sick…I hope not. I just won’t think about it!

The characters were well thought out. Oh well, I guess I have two complaints. Sometimes the interactions between Tabby and Jimmy felt forced, and not really believable. I didn’t really like Tabby’s character so much, I felt she was unnecessarily mean to Jimmy, always being condescending and acting like he was dumb…but hey, he was only saving the day, no biggie! I did enjoy the turnaround of a man of god, being open-minded about witchy things. You don’t see that very often…now if only the witch could have been more open-minded about the godly things.

The idea that Jimmy is of part some secret circle of Maker’s, was only mentioned during a short portion at the end. It was  more of a teaser as to whats to come in book two I guess. My interest is piqued, but I am also at the same time weary that it is slightly silly. You’ll see what I mean when you read it.

The ending. Oh My God, the ending. I won’t spoil it, but I will say I both loved it and hated it, but not because it was bad necessarily. I hated it because it was not all what I wanted or was expecting.

Very good story, I will definitely be picking up book two and anything else by this author.

3 thoughts on “I Read It! Review of Sorrow’s Point by Danielle DeVor

Leave a Reply

