Uncategorized

I Read It! Review of Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt

Title:  Orbiting Jupiter

Series: No

Author: Gary D. Schmidt

Publisher: Clarion Books

Published Date: October 6, 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction,

 Format: Hard Cover

Pages: 192

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this novel from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in a Goodreads Giveaway.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

The two-time Newbery Honor winner Gary D. Schmidt delivers the shattering story of Joseph, a father at thirteen, who has never seen his daughter, Jupiter. After spending time in a juvenile facility, he’s placed with a foster family on a farm in rural Maine. Here Joseph, damaged and withdrawn, meets twelve-year-old Jack, who narrates the account of the troubled, passionate teen who wants to find his baby at any cost. In this riveting novel, two boys discover the true meaning of family and the sacrifices it requires.

My Review

Oh my god! Orbiting Jupiter broke my heart. It is a short read and I believe I was sad throughout 85%, and I cried through the last half of the story. Every time you thought things were starting to look up, there came another punch to the gut. Poor Joseph, a fourteen year old boy who grew up with an incredibly abusive father. He found one spot of complete happiness with a girl he met and started a relationship with. Unfortunately her parents, discovered this relationship and forbade Joseph and Madeline from seeing each other. He ends up being arrested for trying to get to her, and he finds out that Madeline is going to have a baby.

The whole story is told through the pov of Joseph’s foster brother, who has gained an attachment to Joseph. There are many uplifting and happy moments in the story, and that just makes what happens that much crueler.

I still want to cry. This will be a story that will stick with me for a long time. Gary Schmidt, though I will be much more wary of, will be an author I will watch out for in the future.

2 thoughts on “I Read It! Review of Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt

Leave a Reply

