Uncategorized

Shelf Control- #3

Shelf Control is a weekly meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies where we explore the books we already own but just haven’t gotten around to reading yet.

This weeks book for Shelf Control will also highlight one of my other passions. The Great Outdoors.8c408b1fab9534725f2c844bcfc07227

I love the outdoors as equally as I love reading. I like to go hiking, backpacking, camping, Geocaching. You name the adventure and I am already packed and ready to go.

188119 Title: How to Stay Alive in the Woods: A Complete Guide to Food, SHelter, and Self-Preservation…anywhere.

Author: Bradford Angier

HOW TO STAY ALIVE IN THE WOODS is a practical, readable-and potentially indispensable-manual for anyone venturing into the great outdoors. Broken down into four essential sections, Sustenance, Warmth, Orientation and Safety, this enlightening guide reveals how to catch game without a gun, what plants to eat (full-color illustrations of these make identification simple), how to build a warm shelter, make clothing, protect yourself and signal for help. Detailed illustrations and expanded instructions, newly commissioned for this deluxe edition, offer crucial information at a glance, making How to Stay Alive in the Woods truly a lifesaver.

How I got it:

I bought it

When I got it:

maybe 3 or 4 months ago

Why I want to read it:

It is a very useful thing to have. Of course I prefer the pocket guides, as they are much easier to carry than a hardcover book. Still, these are useful skills and techniques that will only help me to survive should I ever find myself stranded in a forest on my own (which is entirely a probability)

4 thoughts on “Shelf Control- #3

Leave a Reply

