Uncategorized

Exploring My Bookshelves-A Thriller or Horror Book

I am now participating in another weekly meme, which I will be doing on Saturdays. This meme is once again focused on my bookshelves. The meme is hosted by two wonderful ladies. Victoria @ Addelpates and Book Nerds and Shannon @ For the Love of Words.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Take a “shelfie” (a picture of your bookshelf). Preferably literal, but e-shelves work too.
  2. Respond to the promp given by the hosts. It might be your favourite cover, your favourite author, your book you most recently bought etc
  3. Then give us the blurb and the cover of the book (and what you thought of it if you’ve read it).

wpid-20151030_063042.jpg

“My Shelfies”wpid-20151030_063029.jpg*Note: I am still in the process of organizing all of my books, and I am in desperate need for an actual shelf; which will be coming soon!

This topic wasn’t easy for me to choose one book. Horror and Thriller is one of my favorite genres, so I have many books that fit that category. Stephen King to Dean Koontz; James Patterson to Iris Johansen. However, I did decide on one book that I will proudly display in this category.

wpid-20151030_063055.jpg Title: Ghost Road Blues (Pine deep #1)

Author: Jonathan Maberry

Published: June 1st 2006 by Pinnacle

Pages: 472

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Best First Novel

From a new master of horror comes an apocalyptic showdown between the residents of a secluded, rural town and the deadly evil that confronts them wherever they turn . . .

Evil Doesn’t Die

The cozy little town of Pine Deep buried the horrors of its past a long time ago. Thirty years have gone by since the darkness descended and the Black Harvest began, a time when a serial killer sheared a bloody swath through the quiet Pennsylvania village. The evil that once coursed through Pine Deep has been replaced by cheerful tourists getting ready to enjoy the country’s largest Halloween celebration in what is now called “The Spookiest Town in America.”

It Just Grows Stronger

But then–a month before Halloween–it begins. Unspeakably desecrated bodies. Inexplicable insanity. And an ancient evil walking the streets, drawing in those who would fall to their own demons and seeking to shred the very soul of this rapidly fracturing community. Yes, the residents of Pine Deep have drawn together and faced a killer before. But this time, evil has many faces–and the lust and will to rule the earth. This struggle will be epic.

This book was utterly terrifying and so good that I became I Maberry fanatic. I just love his books!! From page one this book set the tone for creepy, and it never dropped the ball! Definitely a must read if you like horror!

I hope you enjoyed this post, and maybe even want to pick up a Book by Mr. Maberry in the future. I would definitely recommend it.

Until next time my friends,

Jackie

One thought on “Exploring My Bookshelves-A Thriller or Horror Book

Leave a Reply

