Uncategorized

I Read It! Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley

Title:  Worlds of Ink and Shadow: A Novel of the Brontës

Series: No

Author: Lena Coakley

Publisher: ABRAMS Kids, Amulet Books

Published Date: January 5th, 2016

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult

 Format: EBook

Pages: 352

Rating: 3 out 5 Stars

*Reminder* Under the new rating system I have, 3 stars= I liked it (I know it’s rare to see anything less than a 4 star in my reviews 🙂 )

I received this E-book from Netgalley and the Publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

Charlotte, Branwell, Emily, and Anne. The Brontë siblings have always been inseparable. After all, nothing can bond four siblings quite like life in an isolated parsonage out on the moors. Their vivid imaginations lend them escape from their strict upbringing, actually transporting them into their created worlds: the glittering Verdopolis and the romantic and melancholy Gondal. But at what price? As Branwell begins to slip into madness and the sisters feel their real lives slipping away, they must weigh the cost of their powerful imaginations, even as their characters—the brooding Rogue and dashing Duke of Zamorna—refuse to let them go.

Gorgeously written and based on the Brontës’ juvenilia, Worlds of Ink & Shadow brings to life one of history’s most celebrated literary families.

ADD IT!

My Review

I LOVE the Brontës! Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Vilette; I am somewhat less familiar with Anne’s work though I am sure I must remedy that!

I don’t actually know much about the life of the Brontë siblings, I had been vaguely aware of early work from Charlotte Brontës childhood, but I never  really looked into it.

As soon as I saw Lena Coakley’s novel Worlds of Ink and Shadow on Netgalley, I HAD to request it. What a unique and exciting concept and reimagine of history!

I really enjoyed reading this story. It was slow going at first and there were missing portions of the first sentence in the start of a new chapter that occasionally made it confusing (it is an unedited proof). However, it wasn’t difficult to get back into the story once I caught on; and after the annoyance of it faded I got pretty much used to it.

By the middle of the book everything took a very twisted turn. I loved the reveal of the secrets, and how Coakley kept you guessing through much of the book. I can’t really comment on her portrayal of the Brontës personalities, as I don’t know much about them. However, based on Charlotte’s and Emily’s novels I feel she was probably pretty spot on.

I really liked this story and I would recommend it to anyone who likes historical retellings of real people, and likes the Bronte sister’s novels.

Until next time my friends,

*Jackie*

2 thoughts on “I Read It! Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley

Leave a Reply

