Uncategorized

I Read It!- Review of The Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Title:  These Shallow Graves

Series: No

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Publisher: Random House Delacorte

Published Date: October 27, 2015

Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller

 Format: EBook

Pages: 496

Rating: 4 out 5 stars

I received this ARC from Netgalley and Random House Delacorte in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis (From Goodreads) Add it to my TBR

Set in gilded age New York, These Shallow Graves follows the story of Josephine Montfort, an American aristocrat. Jo lives a life of old-money ease. Not much is expected of her other than to look good and marry well. But when her father dies due to an accidental gunshot, the gilding on Jo’s world starts to tarnish. With the help of a handsome and brash reporter, and a young medical student who moonlights in the city morgue, Jo uncovers the truth behind her father’s death and learns that if you’re going to bury the past, you’d better bury it deep.

*Quick Note*

So this is the first book that gets rated under my new review system (I am trying to be a little less cavalier in my ratings) . So, from her on out I will be just a tad stricter in my ratings so here is the break down for ratings.

  ***** Currently Fangirling

**** Loved it

*** Liked it

** Meh

*. DNF

My Review

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly was amazing! The mystery was well conceived, the plot intriguing, the twists surprising. I really, really enjoyed reading this book. I only have a few complaints and one reason as to why I am not currently fangirling over this book. However, these reasons did not take away from the enjoyment of this story!

I felt that this story would have been better as a dual POV instead of in just the POV of Josephine. I say this because, there are some parts of the story where I felt it dragged on and on before it got interesting again. A few scenes we probably could have lived without and instead flashed to what Eddie was doing. In fact I wish there was more development in Eddies character.  That is the problem with having a lot of amazing characters and only a single POV, there is really only room for one character to really develop. Oh, I would have loved more of Fay as well! I feel like she would be a very interesting character!

I really like the ending of this story. I did not see the twist coming! I also like how she ends it with a bit of tease for what could possibly be the future but really it can go anyway the imagination likes! It is set up to where she could easily create a series, but so smoothly that if she didn’t that wouldn’t be a problem.

I could have used a little more thrill and maybe some scary bits…but over all I really enjoyed it!

*Jackie*

4 thoughts on “I Read It!- Review of The Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Leave a Reply

