Uncategorized

This or That…? #9

This or That…? is a weekly theme/challenge hosted by the absolutely beautiful Rae. Check out her blog and follow her. You won’t regret it!

So for this week the This or That…? challenge is more of a kind of editorial. This week I get to tell you all about my favorite Genre of books. I am so excited to do this weeks challenge because…I LOVE to talk! I especially like to talk about my likes and dislikes. However, don’t be fooled by my excitement into thinking this challenge was easy for me! I spent a lot of time trying to narrow down genres to my absolute favorites. I am a very eclectic reader. So I decided to go with two of my absolute favorite genres Horror/Suspense and SciFi/Fantasy.

Horror/Suspense

I remember the very first time I ever read a horror novel, ones not of the Goosebump variety. It was Stephen Kings The Stand. I was so scared, but I just couldn’t put it down! It was so good I picked up IT, and just pretty much fell in love with all things horror. Even though being scared isn’t always so fun, I find I am addicted to it. I am not the type of person who gets held back by fear, in fact it generally seems to spur me on. I guess you can say I’m a little bit of an adrenaline junky. Anything that gets my blood pumping, I am all for!

SciFi/Fantasy

This is my go to genre. If the book is science fiction and/or fantasy I am probably guaranteed to love it! There are very few exceptions!  The book I read that made reading suddenly something fun, instead of another school chore, was Madeleine L’Engles A Wrinkle In Time. So it was pretty early in my reading career that I realized this was my favorite genre! I love anything to do with space, time traveling, aliens, insane medical technologies, robots, elves, dragons, dwarves. I am excited just thinking about them!

These are the two genres I think stand out the most for me. I especially love when they can be combined; and especially when they are YA’s.

That’s it, that’s all

Until next time my friends,

*Jackie*

10 thoughts on “This or That…? #9

  1. I’ve never really read anything purely horror and Stephen King is definitely something I want to try out soon enough. Just to know what’s the fuss about. Although, the fact that he’s released so many books makes me ponder my need to read his work. But now I’m sure I’ll probably try to get my hands on some of his hits ! A Wrinkle in Time ! I’ve seen that everywhere, but I never took the time to check out what it was about. It sure does look like a fun read, though ! Nice post, by the way !! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love A Wrinkle in Time!!! You should read it as soon as you can! Stephen King is brilliant with emotions. He doesn’t do only horror though. He actually also has a Fantasy series called The Dark Tower series. Also his book Under The Dome isn’t horror; but it is a really good story! I highly reccommend everything by him! He does have a lot of books, but he definitely puts out quality.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s the fact that there’s so many books being released quickly that gets a lot of people to question the quality of his work. Whenever you see this “phenomenon”, you usually come to the conclusion that someone’s milking a series or is just sprouting books here and there. Glad to hear it isn’t much the case with Stephen King. I’ll definitely check those out. I know there’s a book with time travelling and JFK that seems really interesting. Still trying to find that book for cheap though. The title is 11/22/63. Have you ever tried that novel?

        – Lashaan

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I haven’t but I have heard good things about it. I know they are making a tv series or a movie about it. I definitely want to read it! Ive only read Under The Dome, the rest of my King experience has been his old stuff. I do have Liseys story sitting on my shelf though. I have never come across a King novel or short story that I didn’t enjoy…of course I can’t also speak for others :-). I definitely say give it a try. You could try one of his short stories even to kind of get a taste. A lot of King novels are serious undertakings.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

