Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday!!! Novels to read if you like Dystopian.

Hello everyone!! I have so much to give you this week in my blog. Reviews, TAGs, This or That…?. I am also working on ideas to make my blog a lot more lively, and even a posting calendar. So new things means good things!!! So to start off the week, here is my TTT!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly theme/meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish. This weeks theme is Ten Books To Read If You Like….(insert popular Book/Author/Genre etc.;). I am going to do my post on a genre; one of my FAVORITE genres. Dystopian. It doesn’t matter if its horror, YA, Sci-Fi, or AF I love a good post-apocalyptic dystopian novel. I’m sure by now A LOT of people have read the Hunger Games and Divergent (both amazing Dystopian novels) but if you havent fully ventured into the world of Dystopian, come my child, there is a lot to learn.

So without further a due here are my Ten Books To Read If You Like…Dystopian Novels.

  1. The Lord of The Flies by William Golding

William Golding’s compelling story about a group of very ordinary small boys marooned on a coral island has become a modern classic. At first, it seems as though it’s all going to be great fun; but the fun before long becomes furious & life on the island turns into a nightmare of panic & death. As ordinary standards of behavior collapse, the whole world the boys know collapses with them—the world of cricket & homework & adventure stories—& another world is revealed beneath, primitive & terrible.

This story is by far one of my favorites. Although it is arguable on whether or not it is truly dystopian, however, in this book there is a clear crumbling of structure and a general dysfunction of society, as to classify this as a Dystopian. This story really shines a light on a controversial topic on wether anarchy can exist within human nature.

2. The Road by Cormac McCarthy

A searing, post apocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy’s masterpiece.

A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other

This story is plainly one of the worst dystopians I have ever read, but not because I hated it. This is absolutely not a world I want to ever live in! McCarthy’s capture of the situations,the horrors,and just the absolute despair is, I feel as spot on as one can be in a foreign world. There was very little cheer in this book, so be prepared to not feel happy. However, it is also beautiful novel about perseverance in a world that has little to be thankful for.

3.  The Stand by Stephen King

This is the way the world ends: with a nanosecond of computer error in a Defense Department laboratory and a million casual contacts that form the links in a chain letter of death.

And here is the bleak new world of the day after: a world stripped of its institutions and emptied of 99 percent of its people. A world in which a handful of panicky survivors choose sides — or are chosen. A world in which good rides on the frail shoulders of the 108-year-old Mother Abagail — and the worst nightmares of evil are embodied in a man with a lethal smile and unspeakable powers: Randall Flagg, the dark man.

By far my favorite King novel EVER! It is pretty much the poster child for the end of the world, and the fight between good and evil.

4. Ashfall Series by Mike Mullin

Under the bubbling hot springs and geysers of Yellowstone National Park is a supervolcano. Most people don’t know it’s there. The caldera is so large that it can only be seen from a plane or satellite. It just could be overdue for an eruption, which would change the landscape and climate of our planet.

For Alex, being left alone for the weekend means having the freedom to play computer games and hang out with his friends without hassle from his mother. Then the Yellowstone supervolcano erupts, plunging his hometown into a nightmare of darkness, ash, and violence. Alex begins a harrowing trek to search for his family and finds help in Darla, a travel partner he meets along the way. Together they must find the strength and skills to survive and outlast an epic disaster.

I really enjoyed this series. What really gets me is that the whole premise, the eruption of Yelowstone, is so entirely possible that this story has a level of reality that makes it terrifying.

5.  1984 by George Orwell

The year 1984 has come and gone, but George Orwell’s prophetic, nightmarish vision in 1949 of the world we were becoming is timelier than ever. 1984 is still the great modern classic of “negative utopia” -a startlingly original and haunting novel that creates an imaginary world that is completely convincing, from the first sentence to the last four words. No one can deny the novel’s hold on the imaginations of whole generations, or the power of its admonitions -a power that seems to grow, not lessen, with the passage of time.

Okay, I don’t actually love this story. Orwell is not exactly the greatest writer…but he does have an uncanny prediction of the future. When you read this you really have to remind yourself that he wrote it in 1949. This novel could be considered the grandfather of all those dystopians where the government rules through control of the people, the media, and the truth.

6. The Giver by Lois Lowry

Jonas’s world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

I have only read the first book of this series so far. The whole thing is beautiful and Lowry is such an amazing writer. If you havent read this…it should be a must on you TBR!

7. Under the Dome by Stephen King

On an entirely normal, beautiful fall day in Chester’s Mill, Maine, the town is inexplicably and suddenly sealed off from the rest of the world by an invisible force field. Planes crash into it and fall from the sky in flaming wreckage, a gardener’s hand is severed as “the dome” comes down on it, people running errands in the neighboring town are divided from their families, and cars explode on impact. No one can fathom what this barrier is, where it came from, and when — or if — it will go away.

Dale Barbara, Iraq vet and now a short-order cook, finds himself teamed with a few intrepid citizens — town newspaper owner Julia Shumway, a physician’s assistant at the hospital, a select-woman, and three brave kids. Against them stands Big Jim Rennie, a politician who will stop at nothing — even murder — to hold the reins of power, and his son, who is keeping a horrible secret in a dark pantry. But their main adversary is the Dome itself. Because time isn’t just short. It’s running out.

Another King novel, which his also quite an undertaking, but still a unique and amazing novel. Even if you have started the T.V. Show before reading this, the two are also very different from each other.  

8. The Rot and Ruin Series by Jonathan Maberry

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn’t want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash, but what he gets is a vocation that will teach him what it means to be human

Honestly I can’t even begin to tell you how much I LOVE this series! If you trust me at all in my recommendations put it on your TBR. You won’t regret it. While you are at it…put everything by Maberry on it as well!

9.  Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.

The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.

There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don’t come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved.

Continuing on the theme of worst government ever! Loved this book!

10. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love

Okay, that’s it that’s all folks. Let me know if you have read any of these, have any questions, or want to add some rec’s. I would love to hear your opinions!

Until next time my friends,

*Jackie*

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!!! Novels to read if you like Dystopian.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s