Uncategorized

I Read It! Review- The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss (A Novel IRL)

Print

Title: The UNfortunate Decisions of Dahlia MOss

Author: Max Wirestone

Publisher: Redhook Books/ Orbit/ Hatchett Book Group

Published Date: October 2015

Genre: Fiction/Literature, Adult Fiction, Mystery, Humor

Format: E-book

Pages: N/A

Rating: 6 out of 5 stars

Received from NetGalley in exchange for a review.

Synopsis ( from Goodreads)

For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something.

The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she’s just the girl to deal with them.

My Review

The average rating for this book on Goodreads is seriously unfortunate…i’m not sure the people who gave it a bad review read the same book I did (seriously though, everyone is entitled to their own opinion; free of hateful persecution!)

Dahlia Moss is a thirty something “adult”, who just can’t quite get the hang of this adulting business. She is most definitely a hot mess! After an awful and messy break-up and with a business degree conveniently collecting dust, she ventures to one failed job interview after another. That is until, a mysterious (and filthy rich) man hires her to find an object that has been stolen from him. The object is none other than a 3D Sphere inside the land of Zoth; an MMORPG. Of course, Dahlia is somewhat weary of the whole thing, but really when you’re broke and on your last batch of Ramen Noodles,$2000.00 can be pretty convincing.

First of all I want to point out that I do not play video games. I am just not good at them,and I don’t like not being good at something. I played World of Warcraft one time and I died and couldn’t find my body (I have been assured this should have been easy!). So naturally I didn’t get some of the references. With that said; this book is freaking awesome!! Not being a video game nerd, was never a hinderance, and I though it was all very hilarious. Dahlia is a witty hoot, Nathan is seriously adorably strange, and Schuler (the closet Zoth fanatic) is subtly cute. My favorite character, besides Dahlia, has to be Charice. Charice, is the owner of the apartment Dahlia mooches a room off. She is lovable and nutty, with lots of money to just do whatever she wants. I LOVE Cahrice. One of the best supporting characters I have read in a long time.

The mystery in this series is both bizarre and awesome. There are enough red herrings to keep you really invested. The twist is also over the top and I never expected it!!

Standing ovation for Max Wirestone and his (need I hope) Bestseller! I will be looking for the sequel. There must be a sequel!!

3 thoughts on “I Read It! Review- The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss (A Novel IRL)

Leave a Reply

