Uncategorized

I Read It- Review of The Diviners by Libba Bray

17899351

Title: The Diviners

Author: LIbba Bray

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Published Date: September 2012

Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Occultism, Mystery and Detective Stories

Format: Paperback

Pages: 578

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Received from my local Library.

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Do you believe there are ghosts and demons and Diviners among us?
Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.
Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.
As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfurl in the city that never sleeps. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

My Review

I’m going to start off my review with mentioning that Libba Bray is now one of my top favorite authors! The Diviners was so good!

The cover is beautiful. I much prefer this cover version to the one that just looks like an eyeball surrounded by clouds. I’m sure this was supposed to be one of the symbols from the book…but it isn’t how I imagined it…and for me it just doesn’t fit. The version I read has the main character Evie standing in a street between I believe Jericho and Sam. I like the little teaser to a possible love triangle!?!. You can also tell right off the bat that the story is set in the past.

My favorite characters in the book were Evie,Theta, and Jericho. Although, it did take me a little while to come around to Jericho; mostly because he’s so quiet. You don’t really get much of his story until later, and boy is it a doosy! My poor heart broke for that boy! Theta is simply a fire cracker! She is so sassy you can’t help but love her. She has another gut wrenching story though! Evie was great, I had moments where she was annoying, but I just tried to remind myself that she is a teenager with a spoiled mentality. Thankfully she wasn’t like this all of the time; and she really grew on me.

There is definitely a possibility of a love triangle…well make that a rectangle! Evie’s best friend Mabel wants Jericho, Jericho wants Evie, Sam wants Evie, and Evie just wants to be loved. Though I think Jericho has it in the bag. I am absolutely shipping JerIe?…Evicho?…(I’ll work on it).  Although I do have to say that I was thrilled that the romance was a very tiny part of the story.

Now onto the story! I just loved that this was set in the roaring 20s! I haven’t read many books from this era, but each time I do they just seem so fun! Flappers, speakeasies, clubs, music, parties, sacrificial murders….wait, what!?! That’s right folks. Among the many fun stuff in this book, there is just as much spooky horror; and it was actually pretty spooky. I was thrilled when I got to the parts where the big evilguy started murdering people; not because I in anyway condone ritualistic murder; but because Ms. Bray wrote it so well. I was somewhat afraid the evil would be a bit cheesy, but it wasn’t. From his eerie song to the really freaky occult following I was spooked.

The Diviners was 100% wonderful! I can’t wait to read the next installment Lair of Dreams; or any of Libba Brays other books!

3 thoughts on “I Read It- Review of The Diviners by Libba Bray

Leave a Reply

